Inspiration

Working through module three, I found myself immersed in the content, three hours went by so quickly as I just could not stop researching. I honestly could not believe what I was reading, how in this day and age are people forced to live in such turmoil and horror?

I strongly recommend watching Clouds Over Sidra, It gives a 360 degree guide through Sidra new home in Zaatari Refugee Camp. Sidra is just one of the 130,000 Syrians who were forced to flee their home due to the war. Sidra takes you on a tour through the camp, what she eats, where she sleeps, learns and plays. Click here 

Further through the module I started reading about girls education one of the TWB initiatives and I was alarmed by the statistics. It is just outrageous that an 11 year old girl can be sold to a 55 year old man in the name of marriage (One Girl, 2016) and then go on to have children while they are still a child themselves!

Screen Shot 2016-11-01 at 9.53.16 pm.png(One Girl, 2016)

I could not imagine the pain and suffering that these girls are going through and how they are just disregarded due to their gender. For this reason I found my inspiration for assignment 3. I am going to create a future learning space around the importance of girls education and how by them staying in school it has the potential to save a generation.

Meet other refugees like Fatima who also imagine their dream jobs. Click here

screen-shot-2016-11-01-at-9-57-55-pm(McCarthy, 2016)

Meet other refugees like Fatima who also imagine their dream jobs. Click here

 

 

I had this very dream, and today I am living out my dream, it is only fair that Fatima has the same opportunity.

Teachers are the pulse, the acupuncture points, 

…and the glue that holds communities together (TWB, 2016)

 

 

 

McCarthy, J. (2016 Feburary 24) This is what happens when refugee girls imagine their dream jobs. Retrieved from https://www.globalcitizen.org/en/content/these-refugee-girls-dress-up-for-dream-job-hope-fo/

One Girl (2016) When a Girl is Educated Everything Changes. Retrieved from http://www.onegirl.org.au/why-girls

Leave a Reply

